Orientation program to the Community based and School Based Child Protection Committees.


The orientation program conducted from April 9 - 11, 2024 at IMSL, Thimphu, aimed to establish and empower Community Child Protection Committees and School Child Protection Committees in three Gewogs and six schools within the Thimphu Dzongkhag.

Community Based Child Protection Committees

  • Geney Gewog
  • Kawang Gewog
  • Mewang Gewog
  • School Based Child Protection Committees

  • Kuzhugchen Middle Secondary School
  • Khasadrapchu Middle Secondary School
  • Wangbama Central School
  • Sisina Primary School
  • Bjemina Primary School
  • Tshaluna Community Primary School.
  • The program focused on equipping participants with essential knowledge related to child protection, early identification and safe referral, and the Internal Child Safeguarding Framework. While the formation of committees occurred in six schools and three communities/gewogs, all committees, as well as sector heads of Thimphu Dzongkhag were oriented on those critical topics. The second day of the orientation program was graced by Dasho Dzongda of Thimphu Dzongkhag. This comprehensive approach ensured that stakeholders at all levels were equipped to effectively safeguard children and respond to child protection concerns within their respective areas of responsibility.